Connect with us
Photo Credit: @OmahaBSB/Twitter Photo Credit: @OmahaBSB/Twitter

Hastings Native Boeve Named Summit League POY

Photo Credit: @OmahaBSB/Twitter Photo Credit: @OmahaBSB/Twitter

TULSA, Okla. - The Summit League announced the 2022 #SummitBSB All-League Teams and individual award winners Tuesday with Omaha third baseman Mike Boeve earning the top honor after being named the Summit League Player of the Year. Boeve is the third Maverick in program history to earn the award and first since Clayton Taylor in 2016.

Boeve batted .393 in league action and led all hitters with a 1.093 OPS, while hitting safely in 23 of 24 starts. He added eight doubles, three home runs and 13 RBI for the Mavericks as he landed on the all-league first team for the second consecutive season. The Hastings, Neb., native brings a 29-game overall hitting streak into the postseason.

Oral Roberts' Ledgend Smith was named the Pitcher of the Year, giving a Golden Eagle that distinction in back-to-back years. Smith logged a league-best 0.94 ERA, while fanning 57 in 47.2 innings. The Oklahoma transfer posted a 5-2 record in seven league starts.
Omaha lefthander Caleb Riedel was named the Newcomer of the Year, giving the Mavericks a pair of individual awards winner for the first time since 2013 when Ryan Keele earned both Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year honors and Bob Herold was named the Coach of the Year.

Riedel, a JUCO-transfer from Iowa Western Community College, sported a 1.23 ERA in eight league starts for the Mavericks, posting a 3-1 record. The Omaha native struck out 48 in 36.2 conference innings.

North Dakota State first-year leader Tyler Oakes was named the Coach of the Year after leading the Bison to the program's first Summit League regular season title. NDSU won all seven Summit League series they completed, finishing the league slate with a 17-5 clip. The former Bison assistant is the first NDSU skipper to win the honor.

Boeve, Smith and Riedel were all first-team selections. Smith was part of a Golden Eagle contingent that made up half of the first team as six other ORU teammates made the squad, including starting pitcher Isaac Coffey, first baseman Jake McMurray, outfielders Joshua Cox and Caleb Denny who were repeat honorees. Utlity player A.J. Archambo and shortstop Jackson Loftin also represented the Golden Eagles on the first team.

Coffey, who posted a 1.90 ERA in eight starts and went 4-2 in league play with a pair of shutouts, was the lone player among the 28 total players selected to earn his third career all-league nod. 

The regular season champion Bison and South Dakota State joined Omaha in having a pair of all-league selections on the first team. League newcomer Northern Colorado was represented on the first team by second baseman Shaydon Kubo, who led all Summit League players with 38 hits and 29 RBI in 24 conference games.

NDSU's first teamers included outfielder Calen Schwabe, who led the league with a .417 clip in conference action, and designated hitter Logan Williams, who had five home runs and 22 RBI in 21 league starts. SDSU's first-team representatives were catcher Derek Hackman, who earned his second career all-league honor after being on the 2021 second team, and relief pitcher Ryan Bourassa, who went 2-1 with five saves out of the Jackrabbits' bullpen against league foes. 

Loftin (.372), Cox (.365), Denny (.354) helped the ORU offense hit a league-best .304 vs. conference foes and average 7.5 runs per game during a 17-7 run through Summit League action.

NDSU put a league-high six players on the second team with outfielder Jack Simonsen and starting pitcher Cade Feeney both earning a spot for the second consecutive year. The remaining quartet of Bison on the second team included catcher Will Busch, first baseman Brock Anderson, second baseman Druw Sackett and shortstop Peter Brookshaw. 

Three Jackrabbits landed on the second team, including the power-hitting duo of utitlity player Ryan McDonald and designated hitter Dawson Parry. Both SDSU sluggers hit six home runs in league play, which was only topped by their teammate, Hackman, who had seven.

Oral Roberts had two second-team selections to give them a league-high nine overall selections. The ORU second-team duo included third baseman Holden Breeze and relief pitcher Cade Denton.

The Mavericks also had two players on the second team with outfielder Harrison Denk being joined by starting pitcher Mark Timmins. 
Western Illinois outfielder Nick Mitchell rounds out the second team after he led the league in steals with 17 during his freshman season.

Four of the league's seven teams will embark on Tulsa Wednesday-Saturday for The Summit League Baseball Championship. The action starts Wednesday at 12:05 p.m. CT when top-seeded North Dakota State takes on fourth-seeded Omaha.

<< Previous Next >>